Holt adoption baby

sell by 12/19/66

Compassion needn’t traumatize

with one comment

While I was born after the Korean war, it is still sobering to know I was a product of its aftermath.  More sobering still, are reminders of just how bad it was for the people of The Forgotten War.

While doing image research on Korean websites today, (I love google translate) I stumbled across this amazing footage of Korean orphans during and after the war.



The Christian missionary focus of the video is unmistakable, and I couldn’t figure out if this was a memorial to the Reverend Everett Swanson mentioned or if it was someone in Korea seriously living in the past, or WHAT it could be about.



Part of me continued with trepidation, thinking it might be yet-another-attempt at canonizing and perpetuating International Adoption.

But to my pleasant surprise, these are the posts of Compassion South Korea, a branch of Compassion International (and where the organization first began), and their focus is now, and has always been, sponsorship.  Interestingly, the sponsorship today is not for Koreans, but from Koreans for children of other countries.  And, I was correct that the footage and images are there as memorial to the founder and as a reminder of how tragedy was once in Korea’s backyard and how Koreans can return the favor.  And you know what?  I bet all the 22,000 children he helped are currently productive members of Korean society, with roots here despite their losses.

Seeing these images I am so deeply moved by what happened to the country of my birth, the land where I’m currently residing.  And I truly do see how humanitarians could have been blinded by their desires to help fast and think later.  But clearly, as the late Rev. Swindon demonstrated – we can help children without forcing them to lose their country, culture, language, and each other.

God, I’m always relieved whenever I see Christians NOT wreaking havoc and doing something beneficial.  I wish Harry Holt had taken his cues from Rev. Swindon…

Written by girl4708

September 29, 2011 at 5:45 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello. I was looking for an opportunity to text my thoughts of the past of my life ; having, children; marriage; education; jobs; education; jobs; divorce; jobs; education; war; on incompatibleness; misunderstanding; abuses…So busy I thought, crying wasn’t an option. I would succeed three steps ahead, and then a while
    before some social biases influence a step back; when life was just about to get bright. Now as a senior, I understand better why. My life is good, but I think my life could have been even better, why not
    better, better than. Maybe the people I have meet and people who knew me; people who I saw, and the people who saw me. If human feelings could be measured..; and things activities that could have been done.
    oh, its hard to believe. Again USA: 1-269-476-2299. Eung Soo Chai (Alexander) C E S C O; Vandalia…

    EungSoo Chai

    January 9, 2015 at 6:43 am


Leave a comment