Holt adoption baby

sell by 12/19/66

More than you ask for

with 3 comments

For a brief time, after I realized I was adopted and that adoption may have no small part in why the world makes no sense to me, I went into a mad frenzy seeking to find out as much information on adoption as I could.

Three years later, and I can’t find shelter from adoption all around me. Case in point, two offenses in the span of a week, and I WAS NOT LOOKING.

Assault #1

The theme of the day is birthday – for my work with TRACK and because my so-called birthday is coming up.


So I type in “balloons Seoul” to search for birthday balloons,

and what’s THE VERY FIRST F*****G HIT I GET?


Do Americans have ANY IDEA just HOW MUCH they are entitled to children from other countries? Do non-adoptees have ANY IDEA just HOW MUCH this shit is in our faces? All the time? Everywhere we turn?

Note to myself: never shop for birthday decorations on-line. Not that I would do this for myself, but it seems I can’t even do it for others!

Assault #2

So today I went and google’d “younger sister Korean” just because I forgot how to spell it. I skipped the first Yahoo answers citation because in the second citation “bowel movement…dong” caught my eye. (aw come on, it would catch your eye too) Why would those be in the same post?

One look and I knew exactly. It seems that in forty + years since my similarly piss-poor how-to-care-for-your-Korean-orphan manual, adoption agency handbooks for parenting Korean children hasn’t changed much (okay, about twenty more words) – it’s just been transferred to pixels instead of ink is all.

drill down to its home page, and it gets even worse. Figuring prominently, just below the banner in huge type:

You may be eligible for

a $13,170 federal tax credit

No Waiting Period After Approval

No Foreign Travel Required

Your baby will arrive at LaGuardia or JFK Airport in New York City.

We place healthy infants who receive personal care from foster mothers before placement

And! You can learn all you need to know about how to care for and help your Korean child adjust in one 3-hour seminar…

Oh, and please send us a donation…

It’s a good thing we can’t be crated and shipped in boxes…(which, btw, is essentially what Harry Holt did to infants on the first orphan flight – white cardboard boxes with air-holes, so the babies could be stacked)

I don’t know about you, but I’d have SERIOUS RESERVATIONS about ANY of the over 4,000 parents who answered an advertisement like theirs. Answered and received. And no doubt donated. Just gross.

The subsidized purchase of human beings is another matter altogether…

I’m just minding my own business trying to have a life. But get whacked like this on a regular basis. Me and every adoptee I know. And so will all those babies being adopted now.

Adoption. It’s the gift that just never stops giving.

(By The Indian Association for Promotion of Adoption and Child Welfare)

Written by girl4708

March 10, 2011 at 10:09 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m so very sorry.

    Maria Toler

    March 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm

  2. I’m also a Holt adoptee. I’m talking about my story today, if you’re interested, over at The Lit Pub, where our goal is to connect people, to connect readers with authors, to connect anyone with shared experiences.

    Today I’m reaching out to the KA community (I found your blog because it was linked on another blogroll). Today I wrote about being adopted, about mother-loss, about how I feel connected to the book I’m featuring there (Lidia Yuknavitch’s The Chronology of Water), which is a memoir that begins with stillbirth, with daughter-loss.

    I hope you’ll come check us out. Perhaps it will be a better Internet find that these others you mention here. And if you like what you see, I hope you’ll help spread the news about our site. We’re on FB and Twitter too.

    Yrs (in survival),
    Molly

    P.S. Every comment on our site earns you a chance to win free Lit Pub swag — tees, stickers, books, and bookmarks.

    The link to the post is here: http://thelitpub.com/chapter-one-the-chronology-of-water/ and the link to our site is http://thelitpub.com.

    Molly Gaudry

    June 6, 2011 at 6:31 am

  3. S we find the truth of Holt adoptions, they got away with it when you were all young but no longer.

    eagoodlife

    May 8, 2012 at 1:40 am


Leave a Reply

