Holt adoption baby

sell by 12/19/66

SOLD !!!

with 2 comments

Above are the wrist i.d. tags they put on me for the flight to America.  Old name on one arm, New name on the other.  Kind of like being born, yet dying at the same time…

And then there’s the little square photo.  The one we all have.  The one with our orphan cattle number identifying us from all the other cattle being sold.

I’m getting this number tattoo’d on my chest, btw…

Along with the sell by date tattoo’d on my backside.

Extreme?  I don’t think so…when I read accounts like Janine Vance’s critique, Saint or Sinner? you decide or when I read the statistics on somewhere between 160,000 and 200,000 children shipped out of Korea since the Korean war (that’s almost a quarter of a MILLION babies!) that staggering figure first brings me to my knees in silence, and then makes me want to scream from the mountaintops and carve my number into my chest.

I was SOLD.   I had a family for two years.  I wasn’t an orphan!  Nobody gives up a fat, happy baby unless they are under duress.  My parents were unsupported.  Holt Korea exploited their weakened state.  My country shirked on their duties to protect its citizens – both me and my parents – and I was purchased by a couple who wanted a new plaything.

the living doll with her new owners

I was emotionally deprived by my mother and sexually abused by my father.

Damn right I’m an angry adoptee.

Written by girl4708

September 29, 2008 at 10:31 am

Posted in Saving Babies for Jesus

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, I am export #A-20 on the first flight of Holt, though I had a very good reason to be sent out, being a half-breed was not good for your health. I look forward to reading more on your site and welcome your interaction on this complex THING of Ours, KAD. It was good to meet you on Puppet day.

    koreanwarbaby

    May 24, 2009 at 6:36 pm

  2. Oh I totally agree with you Don! There truly WAS a need for saving the war babies. And I also agree that adoption is called for in some circumstances: true orphans without any extended family, and abused children who need safe haven. Hopefully the handicapped can get more support for their expenses and care so their parents don’t abandon them. But fifty plus years later, there’s not much of an excuse for babies being put on planes for export.

    It’s interesting you have a #A before your number. I was just in numerical sequence, and then later adoptees had a ‘K’ before their number to distinguish them from the other many countries Holt had expanded their export business to. So what was the #A for?

    It was good to meet you on Puppet day as well! (and you didn’t have to defend my honor from anyone, either!) ha ha ha! That Maekju was pretty yummy after.

    teacher4708

    May 25, 2009 at 12:30 am


Leave a Reply

